My Top Five Books of 2016

I recently completed my goal of reading 20 books in 2016. I typically read some history, fiction, theology, and maybe a sprinkling of kid’s books that I’m reading aloud to my children or screening before I read them aloud to my children.

So with that in mind…the top five books I read in 2016!

1055798-gf

This massive biography on Hitler is actually a condensed version of two volumes. After visiting the Dachau concentration camp I felt like I needed to learn more about what could drive a man to commit such horrific acts. This is an important read and offers insight into a dark chapter of human history that must continue to be studied so that we can endeavor not to repeat it.

science-fiction-golden-son-red-rising-trilogy-2-by-pierce-brown-jpg

The second book in the Red Rising Trilogy had big shoes to fill in order to live up to its predecessor. This book proves that YA science fiction can be both engaging and thought provoking. Brown manages to strike a balance between the epic backdrop against which the book is set and strong character development. I can’t wait to read the third book which recently hit the market. We’ll see if it makes this list next year.

brooks-how-everything-became-war

Living in the military bubble, I like to read the occasional book that I know will push me outside my comfort zone. This was definitely one of those books. Brooks writes with an engaging style that shines a light on some of the consequences of how the military has been used in a post 9-11 world. This is a book that will make you think and I highly recommend not just to military folks but for anyone who finds the use of the military in realms where it traditionally has not beed used as cause for concern.

9780307408860_custom-a80e1228d0198d00e5edade52e3ea6bce83e7410-s1200-c15

Erik Larson’s Dead Wake is an incredibly engaging read and provides modern audiences a fresh look at one of the greatest maritime disasters. He does a masterful job of telling the stories of the passengers and weaving them into the political climate of the day. This book has been very popular so if you are one of the few who hasn’t read it yet make sure to pick up a copy with that Amazon gift card you got for Christmas.

marriage-getting

I ordered a copy of this while I was in Germany and found it to be one of the most practical books on marriage I’ve read. It’s great not just for those preparing for marriage but also those already married. When you combine it with the SYMBIS assessment tool you have a great one-two punch for relationship counseling. Highly recommended for anyone looking to better their marriage or for those looking for an additional tool for counseling.

What about you? What books did you read in 2016 that you found particularly engaging?

Leave a Reply

