The Ring I Don’t Wear

My wife shares a very personal account about some struggles during our pastorate in Kansas several years ago. If you are in ministry you need to read this post.

Go Ask the Platypus

Five years ago last Sunday was the anniversary of my husband’s first day as a senior pastor. It’s two important years of my life that have shaped me and my view of ministry. The problem is that every time I try to get my thoughts in order, I get a mental block. I can recount in painful detail the circumstances that led to our leaving, but I don’t want to hurt the people I love who remain in that church. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I realized I need to talk about it. It’s the ring that did it.

Caleb bought me a ring while he was a pastor. It’s a simple band of white gold with three oval sapphires surrounded by tiny diamonds. It’s beautiful, and I love it. But I rarely wear it.

When he first bought me that ring I wanted to wear it all the time…

View original post 614 more words

Leave a Reply

