Preparing for Ch-Ch-Changes…

It’s hard to believe how close a dream a decade in the making is to becoming reality. I’ve started to get a bit nervous about all the changes, the new things to learn, new people to meet, and the move to a new home. The nerves are the typical ones that crop up when a new thing is on the horizon but these feel even weightier than normal because of how long all of this has taken to come to fruition.

In preparation for our transition to Active Duty I quit my job at Best Buy. The six months that I spent at the store were good for me. I got to meet dozens of new people who I never would have had the opportunity to meet. I also gained a new respect for people who have made working in a retail environment a career choice. If we’re being honest, it’s really easy to look down on those who work in retail. Many folks see it as just a starter job or something you do when in dire straits (e.g. me), I had the opportunity to meet a number of people who were really passionate about their jobs in retail. I was also reminded how poorly some people treat those who work in retail. Folks, just don’t. When you walk into a store or sit down in a restaurant make sure to treat those helping you with respect. They are working hard to make ends meet and if you are kind to them the chances are they will go out of their to give you a great customer service experience (in fact, many will be much nicer to you than you deserve even if you do treat them poorly). So my six months at Best Buy were a great experience and a time I’m grateful for. I’m so thankful for the managers who brought me on board when I was in desperate need of a job and gave me the opportunity to work with some fantastic folks.

On top of all the other changes, the kids are growing like weeds. Liam can be incredibly stubborn and frustrating but we are increasingly seeing a very sweet side of him. He is very aware of when mommy and daddy are upset. Sometimes if Laura accidentally hurts herself Liam will run up to her and hug her leg. He’s started paying more attention to Ewan and it has been fun watching him start to see him more like a little brother and less like a little blob who just sucks up our attention and energy. The biggest thing we are working with right now are best ways to discipline and redirect his energy to things more productive than tantrums. It’s an ongoing battle and one that often seems to require more patience than it feels we possess but we are trusting the God will give us the grace we need.

Ewan has really come alive in these past few weeks. Ever since he got over the endless cold that it seemed we passed around for months he has become steadily more active. He is now trying his hardest to crawl and has really started interacting with and playing with objects around him. He has an infectious little giggle and still smiles just as easily as ever. He also started sleeping better again. There were a few weeks where it felt like he didn’t sleep more than an hour at a time until about three or four in the morning an then he’d sleep five or six hours.

Laura and I are still working through everything that went on at the church in Kansas. I think the wounds are slowly healing and seeing this transition on the horizon is helping put those events more and more in the rearview mirror. That said, the things that happened to us left scars. Sometimes something will trigger a memory and reopen those wounds. I don’t think the scars will ever completely fade but I’m not sure that’s a bad thing. Hopefully the things we faced will make us more compassionate and loving people as move into our next phase of ministry.

20140405-183953.jpg

20140405-184000.jpg

20140405-184008.jpg

20140405-184019.jpg

20140405-184039.jpg

20140405-184053.jpg

20140405-184102.jpg

20140405-184112.jpg

20140405-184122.jpg

20140405-184139.jpg

20140405-184147.jpg

20140405-184152.jpg

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Ch-Ch-Changes…

  1. Now that I am working in retail myself and have previously worked as a waitress, I definitely agree with you. It’s HARD being in that kind of position when trying to “make ends meet.” Yet, it’s a worthwhile experience more often than not.

    But, what I really want to say is that I’m very proud of the man of God you’ve become. Your patience and loyalty have served you well through both the good and bad times and I know you’ll only continue to grow. You’ve always set such a great example for me to follow, and I love you for that.

Leave a Reply

