Adventures in Fatherhood- “It Ain’t All Roses, Unicorns, Flutes, and Hippies”

The velociraptor getting older brings with it a lot of fun stuff. Things like new words, new activities, and new adventures. Just about every day we are wowed by how quickly our little toddler is learning and growing.

But it would be dishonest to say that there aren’t challenges, frustrations, and moments of absolute insanity. In fact, there are some days where it feels like we have a one word vocabulary: “NO!” Over and over and over and over again, “NO! NO! NO! NO!”

The latest challenge is hitting. Yes, our little boy is a hitter. Sometimes he’s also a biter. This makes having him around other small children an adventure. Mostly for the other small children. For us it is more like extreme embarrassment as we imagine that all the other parents must be staring at us and thinking, “Are they letting that kid run wild? Are they giving him a steady diet of Mountain Dew and Kit Kats? He’s a pastor’s kid so he’s doomed to end up in some EMO punk rock band in Portland with a bunch of godless, unwashed hippies.” (As an aside, I really like Portland. I have family who live there. I think it is a really great city and I always enjoy it when I am there. I just like to poke fun at it.)

So now we are trying to learn how to discipline. It isn’t the most pleasant aspect of parenting. I’m not even sure if we’re doing it right. I mean, bribing the kid with fine cheeses and dark chocolate is not something found in most parenting books. I kid! I kid!

I guess what I’m really trying to say is that being a parent is tough. I’ve written before about how marriage is hard but it is a good kind of hard. Parenting is the same way. All we can do is pray and trust that God is sovereign and that He will use our bumbling and fumbling attempts at raising this little boy for His glory and our sanctification.  Now, the punklet is getting unruly again. Where’d I put the mimolette?

Leave a Reply

