7 Years

In celebration of our anniversary my wife wrote about the early days of our relationship and how we’ve grown since then.

Go Ask the Platypus

It was so easy to love him.

I was visiting the men’s dormitory with a group of girls keeping one of our friends company while he worked the RA desk. He walked through the lobby, and we invited him to play Spades with us. Our campus was small, but I didn’t know his name until that evening.

“This is Caleb.”

“Oh! I had a dog named Caleb.” I said. Out loud.

“Okay…” he said.

“Caleb means ‘dog’.” (Because that’s so much better than my opening line.)

“No, it doesn’t.”

“Yes, it does.”

“No. It means brave,” he said one eyebrow raised and lips pursed in irritation, but I was oblivious to anything but my etymology lesson.

“Yes, brave and loyal. Like a dog,” I said with an air of finality. “It’s Hebrew.”

He forgave me. I think it helped that I laughed at every one of his jokes that evening.

The fall…

View original post 706 more words

Leave a Reply

