Blogging for Books- “Bloodlines”- John Piper

I’m a relative latecomer to John Piper and thus have not read very many of his works. That said, from the moment I picked up Bloodlines I was hooked. That has not always been the case for me with Piper’s works. I have always found his writing helpful but none has ever grabbed me as quickly or engaged me as thoroughly as Bloodlines. From what I’ve read of Piper, this is definitely his most personal work and maybe that is why it really appeals to me. It reveals something of the story behind the popular pastor and opens a door into how he arrived at his thinking on issues of race in the present.

What I liked:

1. Piper’s personal story. These were the sections that were simply outstanding. Piper is very honest with his past and growing up in a society framed by the false idea of “separate but equal.” These portions of the book are fascinating and heartbreaking at the same time.

2. Scriptural grounding. As is typical with a John Piper book this one is grounded in Scripture. Yes, there is a lot of recounting of Piper’s story but his personal experiences are not the driving force in the book. Scripture is the driving force in the book.

3. Gospel focused. The book has a strong Scripture focus in general and a strong Gospel focus in particular. Piper always brings things back to the cross.

Overall, this is an excellent book and I highly recommend it.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

