100 Movies to See Before You Die- “E.T.”

E.T. is a 1982 film directed by Steven Spielberg and one of the biggest box office hits of all time. The box office receipts alone would probably be enough for this film to be considered for a “best of” list. The universal theme of friendship that permeates this film as well as the iconic character of E.T. combine to make this a nostalgic childhood favorite for an entire generation of moviegoers. Even today, some of the classic lines (“E.T. phone home.”) are deeply embedded into popular culture and will likely continue to be popular as parents share their love of the little brownish alien with their kids. So does this nostalgic favorite deserve to be counted among the all time greats?

Source

Should this film be considered a classic? I’m probably going to catch some flack for this, but I don’t think it should. Maybe it’s because the film does not have the nostalgia value of say, a Star Wars or Raiders of The Lost Ark for me. I did not grow up watching E.T. and the times that I remember watching it I recall not being all that interested. As I sat down to watch it this time I found myself thinking that it was a cute story that was told well but ultimately it did not rise to the level of the previously mentioned films from the same era. I can see how kids would love it but I just don’t think the nostalgia factor is enough for this film to be one that you need to see before you die.

Would I own this film? No, I wouldn’t. Without the nostalgia factor, there’s no need for me to pick this one up. I would rather sit down and watch Star Wars with my son than E.T. It’s not a bad film, but it is just not one I particularly enjoy. I must confess that as I get older and now especially as a parent, I find myself more and more annoyed with movies that portray adults as bumbling fools and kids as the innocent little heroes. I can handle it in small doses but in E.T. There really isn’t a competent adult in the entire movie. Not only that, but most of the adults are portrayed as the bad guys and are downright mean.That aggravates me and is another reason I’m not a huge fan of this movie.

One thought on “100 Movies to See Before You Die- “E.T.”

  1. I’m with you.

    There just isn’t enough there to make the movie hold my attention for that long. It’s a cute film, but I think that “Flight of the Navigator” is a far-better film. I lump it with “AI: Artificial Intelligence” as one of those films which Steven Spielberg made too-pretentious for its substance.

    At least there are two of us in the world …

Leave a Reply

