A Wonderful Date Night- Owl City and Mat Kearney in Concert in Grand Prairie

I’m a bit late with this post, but I wanted to share the video clips anyway. A couple of weeks ago Laura and I decided on a whim to go to a concert. We had a blast last fall when we attended a Creed and Skillet concert so with the stress of a move and the ongoing job hunt saga we decided it was time to call up our favorite babysitter and have a night on the town.

The concert was a lot of fun. I had never really heard any of Mat Kearney’s stuff and by the end of the night I was a fan. Within days of the concert I purchased two CDs and have been listening to the other two albums via my Zune pass. If you haven’t heard Kearney’s stuff be sure to check him out. Unfortunately since I didn’t know I would love his music I didn’t get any video clips of it.

I have to say, I wondered how Owl City’s decidedly electronic style would translate into a live show. The arrangements of the live show have a decidedly more rock edge and he tours with a talented group of musicians including a cellist and violinist. Young has a rather unique stage presence that took me a little while to get used to but once I did I really started to enjoy the music. It was great to hear some of his familiar songs with a different twist. I would love to see him release a live CD.

The ushers at the Verizon Theater were regularly wandering the aisles making people stop recording video but I managed to get a couple of fairly long clips. This is cell phone video so please forgive the quality. At the very least it will give you a bit of a taste of the concert.

Leave a Reply

