100 Movies to See Before You Die- “Terminator 2: Judgement Day”

When I was skimming over my list of movies for the first time I was a bit surprised to see this film on the list. I mean, “Terminator 2” is a great action flick, but does it really belong on a list of the all time greats? That was when I started doing a bit of research and I found out that this film was truly revolutionary in advancing computer generated imagery. Specifically, using CG for human motion. That alone is huge, but the fact that it is in one of the most influential action films of the last thirty years is just icing on the cake. While it did not receive any of the “big” academy awards, “T2” did snag four technical trophies for makeup, sound mixing, sound editing, and visual effects. So does this film, which did so much for advancing CG, deserve to be considered a classic?

Source 

Should this film be considered a classic? Some films are considered classics because of their timeless stories or amazing performances. These are usually the ones that come to my mind when I think of a classic film. However, we would be remiss to dismiss a film that also dramatically advanced the art form on a technical level. T2 is just such a film. It pushed computer generated imagery into the next generation. There are surely some that would bemoan the overload of CG that T2 played a role in initiating, but there is no denying that it was instrumental in pushing the technology forward. That technology was attached to an appealing story full of memorable characters and great lines which only help to cement this film as a true action classic.

Would I own this film? I love a good action film and this is action film making at its finest. Yes, this is definitely one that has a place on my shelf. I think that too many people take action films for granted. Today so many action movies are shaky cammed to death and it’s become so common that I think we often just accept it. Thankfully we have films like T2 which let a viewer take in every wonderful action packed frame without going into a seizure because the screen never stops shaking.

Leave a Reply

