100 Movies to See Before You Die- “National Lampoon’s Animal House”

Let me say this upfront, I had my doubts going into this movie. They were confirmed about a third of the way through watching it. I’m not sure why this film is considered a classic. It’s not that funny. It’s not that clever. I couldn’t find any redeeming value to sitting through the entire thing so I didn’t finish watching it. Maybe this film is considered the starting point for that particular type of raunchy comedy and that is why it is considered a classic. Well, the type of comedy that “Animal House” portrays is nothing special and does not deserve to be on the same list as films like “On the Waterfront” or “The Searchers.” It’s not even in the solar system as those films.

So this marks the second film I have not completed. I don’t find it to be a classic at all nor do I find it in the least bit entertaining.

Leave a Reply

