Blogging for Books- “When God Created My Toes”

Since my son was born one of the things that I have been doing is stocking up on books for children. When God Created my Toes  (by Dandi Daley Mackall) caught my eye because of the simple but effective idea and the colorful and fun illustrations (by David Hohn). The story is told in an easy to read and understand manner and incorporates an  enjoyable rhyming pattern that moves from “When God created my toes…” to “When God created my heart….” Each page of the book contains a colorful illustration from the life of a young child. The illustrations cover pretty universal childhood experiences (e.g. playing in mud, skinning a knee, drinking hot cocoa, etc.) so  just about any kid could look at one of the pictures and have a real life frame of reference.

I really can’t say enough about the illustrations in this book. They exude warmth and life. David Hohn really does a great job of capturing the fun, mischief, and innocence of childhood. The writing is also very effective, not only because it is simple but also because when it is being read it is very easy for the parent to involve the child by pointing to the child’s toes, head, etc.

A simple but effective story and colorful, warm illustrations make this book work well and make it very easy to recommend to anyone looking for a great children’s book.

Disclosure- I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review.


Leave a Reply

