A Great Season of TCU Football

Last year Laura and I had a rare opportunity that we decided to take advantage of. Since we live in Fort Worth and are just a few short miles from the home of the TCU Horned Frogs we decided to purchase season tickets. We certainly picked the right season to do it! TCU is not a large school compared to most of the schools that surrounded it in the rankings last year. The stadium is also not especially big when compared to many of the ones on the campuses of traditional college football powerhouses. That said, I think the entire city of Fort Worth knew that the Frogs had something special this year and everyone in town was proud to show it. After the disappointing loss in the Fiesta Bowl in 2010, the Frogs knew they had to rebound in a convincing fashion if they hoped to reach the national stage again.

And rebound they did. It was an absolute blast getting to attend the home games. The bands, the music, the crowd, the overpriced food, and the fact that the team was a lot of fun to watch made the whole thing a highlight of 2010. From our seats in the first row of the upper deck we had a great view of the entire field. On top of the great view of the field, we had a great view of the city of Fort Worth. TCU is located on a hill and from upper deck of the stadium you get a great view of the surrounding city.

The season was made all the more sweet by TCU’s stellar performance in the Rose Bowl. I don’t know that I’ve ever been more invested in a football game. I sat on the edge of my seat hoping that TCU would be able to finish the game. The final play that sealed the deal for TCU, Tank Carder’s incredible block of a 2 point conversion, will be etched into my memory as one of the greatest clutch plays of all time.

Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed our season of TCU football. I will also say this, I’ve never been a huge college football guy. I know that’s heresy in the states of Texas and Oklahoma where I spend most of my time, but I’ve never really felt a connection to any college football team. That changed this year. I’m a Horned Frogs fan when it comes to college football. Thanks, TCU, for making our one chance to have season tickets a really great experience!

Also, this was the last year that TCU would play in the old Amon G. Carter stadium which was dedicated in 1930. Shortly after the last home game they knocked down a good portion of the stadium in order to do a major refurbishing of the entire facility. It was neat to get to be a part of the last group of people to watch TCU football in the old stadium.

It will be a lot of fun in the years to come to tell my son about the year I watched TCU win the Rose Bowl. Maybe someday I’ll be able to bring him back to Fort Worth and we can watch a TCU game from the new stadium.

Here are a few pictures and videos I took from this season:

 

Leave a Reply

