So, I Never Posted Anything About the Washington Trip

I just realized that I never posted anything on here about our trip to Washington a few weeks ago. This was our second trip to WA this year. Laura and I also went in March for a cousin’s wedding. We had no idea we were going to be going back in July. Some of my relatives decided that they wanted to have a big family reunion in July. This was a big deal because my Grandma is 93 years old so everyone wanted to make the effort to try and get the entire family together.

The family reunion ended up being a great success. I got to see a lot of cousins and aunts and uncles that I hadn’t seen in decades. We had good food and the perfect weather for sitting outside on the deck or in the shade. I could tell my Grandma really enjoyed having all of her family there. My Mom is the 6th of seven siblings (and the only girl) so you can imagine how difficult it is to get all of them together since they are spread out all over the country.

The trip was also special because it was the first time in more than ten years that my whole family had been back in WA at the same time. That hadn’t happened since we moved from WA to OK in 1999. It was a blast getting to go to Cannon Beach with the family. We used to go on vacation at Cannon Beach and even though we were only there for a few hours, it was a lot of fun.

We also got to spend a few days in Eastern WA near the farm where I grew up. We stayed with some of our oldest family friends on their dryland wheat farm. It was a wonderful few days of catching with up with friends that I grew up with, visiting the old farm house, and my brother and I being able to give our Oklahoma wives tours of where we grew up in WA.

Even though I’ve been away from WA for more than ten years, I still miss the people and the places that I grew up with. I don’t like that I am so far away from both the extended family on my Mom’s side and the extended family on my Dad’s side. One thing is for sure though, when I do get to see all my extended family I can see just how blessed that I am to have relatives who genuinely love and care for each other.

Here’s a slideshow I put together of our trip. It also includes a few video clips.

Leave a Reply

