Made It (I think)!

Well, the semester is over. If you have followed my blog these last two months you know it’s been a very crazy semester. I would venture to say that it has been, by far, the toughest semester of either college or seminary. The week of finals was pretty rough. I still don’t know what my grades are. I’m mostly concerned about whether I managed to eke out a passing grade in Hebrew. I know I did fine in all my other classes.

That brings us to summer. This will likely be my last summer as a full time student. Basically, this is the last time I will have a summer off. This left me with the conundrum of what to do with my summer. There will of course be time for the occasional video game or movie that I put off during the semester because Hebrew took priority (GASP!). However, I have decided to approach this summer as a time of spiritual and mental growth. I recently read the book The Supremacy of God in Preaching (Piper) and I was inspired by all the talk of Jonathan Edwards and his absolutely insane study habits. I will in no way be approaching Edwardsian levels of study discipline, but I have resolved to do a lot of reading this summer.

It has started to sink in that I will soon be an Army Chaplain and will likely soon be facing an overseas deployment. This summer offers me a prime opportunity to devote to study and spiritual preparation in order to cope with the rigors of a deployment.

I also think that keeping the ol’ grey matter engaged this summer will help me come Fall when I start my ridiculous fifteen hour class load. Three of those hours will be Hebrew which is going to be very rough.

With that, here are some of the books that I hope to work through this summer:

Doctrine – Mark Driscoll and Gerry Breshears (I already read half of this over the last two days and I am really enjoying it)

Simply ChristianN.T. Wright

Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy – Francis Schaeffer

The Historical Reliability of the Gospels – Craig Blomberg

Jesus and the God of Israel – Richard Bauckham

Those are all book that are on my bookshelf right now. I got a bunch of them for Christmas last year and this summer should be a good time to work through them. Here’s hoping for a productive summer!

Leave a Reply

