Premarital Counseling Tool Kit for Chaplains

I know, I know…I’m not a Chaplain yet. I am, however, ordained and have performed one wedding and expect that I will do a good number of them over the course of my ministry. I am always on the lookout for good resources to use and recommend to couples that I counsel. Thanks to the internet and some generous churches, I have access to a number of great sermons on relationships that I can share with couples preparing for marriage as well as many good books. Here are some of the tools that I use:

The Peasant Princess– Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church did a great series on the Song of Solomon last fall. One of the greatest things about Mars Hill is that they have harnessed technology to make their sermons and study resources available to anyone for free. On the website you can download audio and video files of each sermon and you can download study guides. This is a great series that is frank, humorous, and most importantly it is Biblically sound.

Love Songs– In the early 90s Tommy Nelson of Denton Bible Church did a series on the Song of Solomon. This is a powerful series and offers sound Scriptural incite into the Song of Solomon and how those principles can be applied to different stages of the marital relationship. Tommy Nelson is a great speaker and a lot of fun to listen to and it was this series that helped launched the Song of Solomon conferences that occur across the country at various times throughout the year.

I love the 90s fashion on display in the above video.

Marriage and Men Marriage and Women– These are Mark Driscoll sermons as well and were preached during a series that went verse by verse through Peter’s epistles. Both sermons offer some great Scriptural principles for men and women as they prepare for marriage. These sermons also have videos and handouts that can be downloaded to supplement them.

I know everyone has their favorite books to recommend, but here are some that I have found useful.

God, Marriage, and Family– Andreas Kostenberger- Great book on a variety of topics that couples preparing for marriage should think about.

The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands– Dr. Laura Schlessinger- Okay, I haven’t read this book. My wife read it when we were engaged and found it useful and I trust her opinion. Schlessinger is very pro-marriage and very anti-shacking up and promiscuity and typically delivers very solid advice.

The Total Money Makeover– Dave Ramsey- The number one cause of marital discord is money. It is important that two people be on the same page on money issues before they tie the knot and Dave Ramsey delivers solid common sense advice that would be helpful to all couples.

There you have it. Those are some of the resources I use and recommend. I’m always on the lookout for new resources so if you have any suggestions, leave me a comment!

My signature

One thought on “Premarital Counseling Tool Kit for Chaplains

  1. Caleb! Excellent resources, man!. Wonderful that you’re coming around to the superiority of the new Calvinism. (that is to say, “biblical Christianity”) Driscoll is outstanding. Bless you and that Hebrew, brother.

Leave a Reply

