In Over My Head -or- Why Caleb needed a summer off

This has been a tough week for me, and it’s only Tuesday. Last week was my first week of summer classes. I was going to attempt to take Turbo/Suicide Hebrew over the summer term. That means I was going to do Elementary Hebrew I and II in roughly ten weeks. I needed to do this in order to graduate from seminary in May ’10. Well, a week into Hebrew I realized that I was not going to be able to hack the accelerated pace or the teaching style of the professor. I am decidedly slow when it comes to learning languages. I am by no means a poor student, but let’s just say my GPA would significantly higher if not for Biblical language classes. Some people have a gift for them, I do not.

Deciding to drop the class was tough for me. It means that I have to put off going Active Duty in the Army another six months or so. In the grand scheme of things, it’s not much but it sure hurt to make the decision. Ultimately, the decision was good for my sanity. I have been going nonstop in school for two years. I have not had any significant amount of time off since the summer of 2007. I had reached a point of pure apathy in relation to school. The only things that have helped me maintain my sanity have been my wife and family and a handful of professors who have made the semesters bearable. I know for some people seminary is the time of their lives, but for me it has been the academic purgatory before the heaven of actual ministry. I greatly value the things that I learn, but so often they are taught in such a way that their usefulness is limited.

So, I’m taking a summer off of school. I am going to relax, play a few video games, try and learn a bit of Hebrew vocabulary so I can have a jump on Hebrew I in the fall, and try to catch up on some reading that has literally been put off for 2 1/2 years (apologies to me mother-in-law, I have had her John Adams book for all of those years).

So that’s what’s up this summer. Probably not much and I’m okay with that. I hope to have a post soon about how I think seminary’s could imrpove the teaching of the Biblical languages for people like me who need more practical applications of the languages than the academic way it is usually taught.

siggy

Leave a Reply

