Paul Harvey Dies- Fairwell, Old Friend

It’s kind of funny to think about. I listened to Paul Harvey. My Dad listened to Paul Harvey. My Grandpa listened to Paul Harvery. While I don’t know this for sure, odds are my greatgrandparents also listened to Paul Harvey. It is incredible to think of one person personally touching four generations of one family.

My epxerience with Paul Harvey started at a very young age. When I was little I used to love to go out and ride in the tractor with my Dad on the farm. The old John Deere tractors, once top of the line, only had AM radio. I always looked forward to hearing Paul Harvey’s cheerful greeting, “Hello Americans! Standby for news!” Paul Harvey’s voice meant it was lunchtime so my Dad and I would find a place to stop the tractor and listen to Paul Harvey while the engine cooled before heading home for lunch.

In my teen summers on the farm where I would often log twelve hour days in the seat of a tractor, I always waited to go to lunch until after I had heard Paul Harvey deliver his daily “News and Comment.” His trademark delivery and pithy stories were enough to hold even the fickle attention of a young teenage boy.

As recently as a few weeks ago I would still listen on the radio to Paul Harvey when his show came on between talk radio personalities.

Yes, Paul Harvey has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. While his stories were sometime sobering and sometimes hunorous, he was always optimistic. He was a man who lived through the challenges of World War II. He saw the moral and political turbulence of the 60s. He saw Presidents and civil rights leaders assassinated. He was there through numerous ressesions and numerous times of staggering growth. He saw the birth of Soviet Empire and its demise with the fall of Berlin Wall. He witnessed the scandals of Nixon and scadals of Clinton. Over the course of his 90 year life he saw many changes, some of them good and some of them bad, but he always seemed optimistic and he inspired optimism.

Mr. Harvey, in a world where all a person can hear, read, and see is the bad news and what certain people perceive is wrong with the world, your voice of optimism will be sorely missed.

siggy-copy

Leave a Reply

