Dr. Thomas White Responds to Controversial Birth Control Statements

I hope this will be my last post on this issue, as I believe that I have made my position known and I would like to get back to more boring blog posts. Dr. White issued a response yesterday to the media coverage of his statements.

Here is an excerpt of his statement:

To clarify, I do not believe all birth control is murder. I do believe that human life begins at the moment of conception. I am opposed to abortifacients which prevent the progression or continuation of life. The third function of most birth control pills prevents a fertilized egg from implanting in the uterine wall and this function is what I referred to as murder. I am opposed to abortion, the morning after pill, and the third function of most birth control pills.  This is part of what I attempted to communicate in my sermon.

You can find the full text of his blog post here.

I respect Dr. White’s opinion and I appreciate his clarifying statements. I stand by my previous posts and believe that careful research and responsible use of certain hormonal birth control methods will lead a couple to an option that effectively prevents conception without risk of abortion. Dr. White’s steps at clarification are a step in the right direction and I think it would be wonderful to see a more detailed and nuanced position come out of the SBC that will acknowledge that some forms of hormonal birth control are acceptable. We’ll just have to wait and see how this continues to play out.

My final thought on the issue: I believe that if a couple approached the topic of birth control humbly and with prayer, that God will lead them in a direction that will not risk life.

Leave a Reply

