CHBOLC: Day 52 “IED Reaction-Convoy Ops Range”

I made it back safely from my trip to Oklahoma City. The wedding I was in went well and I got to spend some quality time with my wife. I think that leaving her this time was much harder than when I left her in June. Thankfully, we will not have to be apart as long this time as she will be coming here to Ft. Jackson at the end of August.

I got to sleep in a little bit today. This was nice because my flight didn’t get in until after 2200 last night. We did not have PT this morning due to the scheduling of the range. We were bused out to the range and than sat in the shade for awhile we waited for instructions.

1st Platoon was the first group to go through the range. The Chaplains who will be deploying downrange got to ride in the trucks during the training. The rest of us observed and than practiced taking cover and moving under fire after the IED blast. They did a two dry runs, a run with blanks, and then a live-fire run. During the live-fire run, the BCT soldiers fired from their moving vehicle and after the IED explosion they took cover and continued to fire from cover. I thought it was good training, and even though I didn’t get to ride in the truck, it was still good observe.

1st Platoon finished up at the range by noon and we were taken back to the school where we were permitted to back to our rooms until close out. All in all it was a pretty relaxed and easy day. It sure was nice to get out of the classroom and have a break from endless slide presentations.

Here are a few pictures from today:

Leave a Reply

