CHBOLC: Day 38 “Quizzes, Cowpens, and a New Class”

Today was a pretty average day. We started with a run day for PT. I am just about ready to make the step up to “A” group for running. We have had some shuffling of the groups with some people moving up to “B” from “C” and until they get accustomed to the “B” pace it makes for a lot of running in circles. When we run in formation, if someone falls out the formation, the rest of the group runs in a big circle at a slow shuffle until everyone else catches back up. This is nice for catching your breath but I don’t think it is helping my run time very much to be shuffling in a circle after every hill.

We had a quiz in class today. It was easy. We also turned in a bunch of homework. It felt good to get some of the assignments turned in. The rest of this week is going to stacked with quizzes, lectures, and a briefing that every student has to give.

The most enjoyable part of the day for me was the discussion of the Battle of Cowpens by our resident historian. He is a retired Chaplain with a Ph.D who taught history at West Point. I enjoy history so I found the class very enjoyable. He also announced that instead of visiting Cowpens for our Staff Ride later in the course, we will be going to Charleston and visiting Ft. Sumter and one other Ft. that I can’t remember right now. I really enjoyed my trip to Charleston and one of the things that I wanted to do but could not was visit Ft. Sumter. That should be a fun trip and should also provide a chance to take some great pictures!

I would like to welcome all the readers from the new class and also any family members that have been reading my previous posts trying to figure out what their soldier will be doing here for the next few weeks. I think you will find that what I have written about over the last 6 weeks and what you are about to go through will be very similar. Feel free to browse through the posts and if you have any questions I’ll see if I can help you out.

Leave a Reply

