CHBOLC: Day 29 “A Day Trip to Historic Charleston”

I woke up this morning at 5am fully intending to head off to NW South Carolina to visit some state parks and take pictures of the scenery. Well, when the weather said that there was a 50% chance of thunderstorms I thought I should try to come up with something to do that would allow me get indoors quickly if I needed to.

I went back to bed and slept for awhile longer. When I went downstairs to grab some breakfast, I overheard some guys from the Chaplain School talking about going to Charleston for the day. I thought that sounded like a good idea. So, I loaded up all of camera gear (it all fits nicely into my Kata backpack) and headed to Charleston.

It took me right at two hours to get there and the old part of town was easy to find and parking was not too dificult nor too expensive. I did a good bit of walking and sweating. I walked from the visitors center down to the harbor and then back up to the visitors center. I would like to go back to the harbor sometime and visit Fort Sumter (where the civil war started). You can just make out the fort in some of the pictures that I took.

On my way back up from the harbor I stopped for lunch at a place called “Hyman’s Seafood.” It is restaurant that has been family owned for over a century and has been voted the best seafood in the south. The place has also had a good number of celebreties eat there. The table I ate at had a small plaque that stated that Anthony Hopkins had eaten at my table in the past. Pretty cool!

The drive back made me grateful I changed my plans about where to visit. I drove through about thirty minutes or so of monsoon-like wind and rain. That would have runied my whole day if I had been stuck outside in that with all of my equipment.

Here are some pictures from my adventures today.

Leave a Reply

