Grand Theft Auto IV Launch Sees Violence

Link to story.

I know this is a bit off topic from what I typically post, but it caught my eye. I have played video games since my parents bought my brother and I a Nintendo Entertainment System for Christmas in 1989. Since then, I have had a Playstation, Playstation 2, Xbox, and currently an Xbox 360.

I confess that I very rarely buy games when they first come out. I have a hard time shelling out $60 for a game unless it is something special. In fact, I have only ever bought one game on the day it came out. I went to the midnight launch for Halo 3 at a local Gamestop. There were over a hundred people there, and the event went without incident.

I wonder why it is that people will physically harm other people to get their hands on a game all about killing, stealing, breaking the law, and having sex with prostitutes? Does it say something about the mentality fostered by a game like this? Does it say something about the type of people that buy a game like this appeals to?

Tough questions. Even more disturbing to me is thatI know many “Christians” who own games in the GTA series. Perhaps I am admitting to my own hypocrisy by being a fan of the “M” rated Halo series, but there is just something about killing cops, sex with prostitutes, and other vile acts that will not let me, in good conscience, own any of the GTA games. When I stop and think about it, the real test for me is: “Would I want my kids to play that game?” For any of the GTA games, the answer is no, no matter what age they are. That decides the issue for me.

Leave a Reply

