Thanks Dave Ramsey

Today was a big day for my wife and I. A little over three years ago, before I met my wife, I bought a brand new truck. I had just gotten out of a bad relationship and I guess that buying the truck was my “bounce back.” I didn’t go nuts and buy something I could never afford, but I did have to finance it for 6 years. Before my wife and I got married, my in-laws required us to take Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University class at our local church. After taking the class, we were determined to rid ourselves of debt as quickly as possible.

Today we took a huge leap forward in being completely debt free. We paid the truck off. It was the biggest check that either of us had ever written, but now the truck is ours completely and that monthly payment that was going to the truck we can roll over into our other vehicle payment.

The best part about it all is that we didn’t go completely broke by paying the truck off. Our next goal is to have the other vehicle completely paid off by the time we have kids. That will just leave us with just my student loans, which will not be a problem once I am an active duty Chaplain.

If we can do it, so can you.

siggy-copy.jpg

4 thoughts on “Thanks Dave Ramsey

  1. Hey there you go good job. I have a Dave Ramsey book, its good advice but one helpful tip is do not cancel your credit cards, if you have no credit your insurance (auto, home or rental) payments will go up. Even if you dont use the credit card you need to keep it open.

    God Bless you

    ags4huckabee.blogspot.com

  2. I found your blog from the Huckabee site, and I just have to say congratulations for this important step in become debt-free! My parents have always held the opinion that debt should be avoided, and although we didn’t have a whole lot, the knowledge that we “owed no man anything” brought a freedom that money can’t buy. May the Lord prosper you in this!

Leave a Reply

