Dispensationalism, Covenantalism, or Something Else (Part II)

For the original post see this link and the comments, especially comment #4. Link

I think that some people have mistook my previously referenced post as a dismissal or disdain of systematic theology. That simply is not the case.

I firmly believe that systematic theology is a valuable tool in understanding the Bible. However, I also think it can lead us down the path of Bible study with blinders on if we are not careful.

I believe that covenant theology is an excellent way to approach Scripture. I also believe that Dispensationalism has many valuable points. These views must not become our “be all, end all” for Biblical study. The more I study Scripture, the more convinced I become that God and His Word are far beyond human comprehension. These systematic theologies are great ways to help us achieve some grasp of the incredible depth and mysteries of God’s Word, but I struggle with believing that one view has “everything” right. The fact that there are different views of systematic theology attest to this, with each one claiming to have it right and having numerous Scripture references to back it up. People obviously believe that there are some approaches to Scripture that make more sense than others.

Do not get me wrong, I am in no way trying to diminish the incredible amount of study and scholarship that has gone into the development of the systematic theologies. I simply believe that, while adhering to a particular theological view, one should remain open to the fact that the Word of God is bigger than any one person or system. Coming to Scripture firmly grounded and yet willing to learn and let God lead you in new directions is, in my opinion, a vital part of Scriptural study.

siggy-copy.jpg

One thought on “Dispensationalism, Covenantalism, or Something Else (Part II)

  1. Caleb,
    I appreciate your clarification. I agree that the number of viewpoints (and multiple offshoots from each) should warn us of becoming too dogmatic when we think we’ve figured everything out. My point (with which you seem to agree) is that the differences by esteemed people of God should stimulate us to further interaction with God and his Word. So many of the less-inspired people with whom I come into contact favor throwing up their hands in the face of the doctrinal diversity and saying, “I’ll just wait until Heaven to find out.” God did not give us his Word here to wait until Heaven to read and pursue. Relationship demands knowing the object of our love. The more intimate the relationship, the more intricate must be the pursuit of knowledge.
    But while I make every attempt to know more, the realist in me must concede that I simply won’t come to perfect knowledge. I find my own opinions sharpening or correcting with each book or discussion or seminar that I take in. But that’s still a good thing. I will continue to pursue understanding with all my heart–not necessarily so that I may attain perfect knowledge, but simply so that I will know my Lord better.
    Yes, complete knowledge of God is infinitely above human comprehension. But God created people for relationship. And it is that knowledge that inspires me to continue my study. I’m glad to see that you too seem to desire that pursuit.

Leave a Reply

